Skip to content
December 30, 2010 / Steve

Day 363 – Star of India

After being cooped up for days not feeling well, I got a serious case of cabin fever tonight. Like so many other times in this project, I hopped in the car with my gear with no idea where I would end up or if I would find a shot at all.

I explored a few favorite spots along the coast, but ended up downtown at the waterfront of San Diego harbor. Conditions could have been better; the wind was gusting at least 20 to 30 mph and that’s what drew my attention to the noisy rigging and sails of the Star of India, the worlds oldest active sailing ship (built in 1863). Moving around in the wind as she was, there was no hope of getting a crystal clear exposure so I set the camera on my tripod, picked a focus point and fired off a few. This was the best of them.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sherrie / Dec 30 2010 7:33 AM

    I see you’re saving the best for last…Love this!

  2. Bryan / Dec 30 2010 8:47 AM

    You took a picture of a piece of ship.

    Sorry – couldn’t resist. šŸ˜€

  3. Steve / Dec 30 2010 10:53 AM

    Thanks Sher!

    And Bry…. that’s hilarious. Never even occurred to me that a piece of ship could be so photogenic!

  4. Julie / Dec 31 2010 12:16 PM

    interesting shot. Will have to add this to the list of places to see when I visit some day…. šŸ™‚

Leave a comment