Skip to content
June 9, 2010 / Steve

Day 160 – Dad’s Vintage Imperial Satellite 127 Box Camera

We inherit many things from our parents; genetics, mannerisms, interests, etc. So, when I look at my Dad’s old Imperial Satellite 1270 Camera, I wonder if this is where my love for photography comes from.

My dad passed away when I was 16. Since then, there are certain things that he had or did that have extra significance, beyond what they normally would. The last time I was home (Michigan), this camera was set aside with a bunch of other things of my Dad’s for me to look through and decide what I wanted to take back to California with me. I obviously kept this, but there was also some Civil Air Patrol stuff that he was into and a few other things.

This old camera, well used and dinged up with tape all over the back and sides holding it together, surely seems like it was something he loved doing. After all, it shoots color AND black and white, with just a flick of a switch!  🙂

Since I brought it home, the camera occupies a space in my office credenza and serves as a nice reminder of something thing I had in common with my dad. I sometimes wonder what it would have been like to swap photo stories and ideas with him. That would have been really cool. I sure do miss him.

As for the camera, I don’t think it works but I have no intention of trying to use or recondition it. I like it just the way it is; tape and all.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Niki / Jun 9 2010 11:16 PM

    stories like this remind me how important it is to truly get to know those people in our lives. great picture, it stands out so well against the white background.

  2. Bryan / Jun 10 2010 9:15 AM

    I have many great memories of Eldon, and think of him often. Do you still have his banjo?

    • Steve / Jun 10 2010 9:20 AM

      Ha! I’m surprised you remembered that. No, don’t have the banjo. You probably also remember me complaining about having to hear Red River Valley over and over as he was learning to play it. 🙂 Even if I had just meager guitar skills, I might have wanted it, but I don’t.

  3. Julie Kanitz / Jun 10 2010 7:36 PM

    Precious! I don’t remember this camera. Glad you are enjoying the camera and it’s beauty. Your Dad would be proud of your talents! Nice background for the photo. Better character then the black cameras we have today.

  4. Mel / Jun 12 2010 10:19 PM

    Awesome. Both the picture and the meaning 🙂

  5. mos / Aug 28 2011 7:17 AM

    Have you ever checked if there was film inside of it?

    • Steve / Aug 28 2011 9:14 AM

      Oh yeah… checked first thing. It would have been cool to find some film waiting to be developed in there, huh?

Leave a comment