Skip to content
June 10, 2010 / Steve

Day 161 – Love Story

Love is in the air….

Ok, so it’s not actually a romantic novel. It’s a book about local hiking trails, but whatever… it works for my concept today. πŸ™‚ I had no idea what to shoot tonight (a very common occurrence).

How it was shot:
The big light at my right illuminated the book and the table it was on. Then, I used another flash with a red gel on it, behind the book pointed toward me, shooting down the curled pages to “warm the heart”. In order to prevent the red light from shining back into the camera lens, I used a box of triscuits that I was munching on as a block.

The strobist tech specs:
AB800 camera right @ 1/32 power into 64″ PLM with diffuser
540EZ camera left and behind book @ 1//32 power, gelled red

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Bryan / Jun 11 2010 12:53 AM

    +10 for using Triscuits.

  2. Marco / Jun 11 2010 1:45 AM

    What a unique shot Steve! Well thought up!

  3. Mom / Jun 11 2010 8:06 AM

    Ha. Very original and well done. Loved hearing about the set up for this shot….just as I was thinking how romantic. πŸ™‚

    • Steve / Jun 11 2010 8:11 AM

      Haha – yeah, that was nothing romantic about sitting there alone in the last 90 minutes of the day, munching on Triscuits, trying to figure out what to shoot. I feel like I got lucky with the last minute inspiration for this one.

  4. Pia / Jun 15 2010 9:06 AM

    mmm, Triscuits…
    Cool concept, Steve. Love the β™₯.

Leave a Reply

