Skip to content
January 1, 2010 / Steve

Day 1 – Let’s get this party started!

Ok, so I’ve been admiring some great photographers for awhile, and have been inspired by the results of their 365 projects, where they take a picture every day and post it. The only real guidelines are the ones you decide to impose on yourself but the overall goal is to really just do it – and don’t miss a day. It’s a tough project to see through but the rewards are many, so I figured there’s no time like the present…

There’s a bunch of reasons to do something like this, but my motivation stems from wanting to become a better photographer. However, it’s also anĀ interesting way to remember the year, andĀ forces you to get out there and do something creative with your camera every day, even if it’s just around the house or in the neighborhood. For me, it will definitely be a labor of love.

I’ll be shooting the entire project with my Canon 5D Mark II and a variety of 3 lenses:

  • Canon 24-105L f/4.0
  • Canon 70-300 f/4.0 – 5.6
  • Canon 50mm f/1.8

Any time I use strobes or flashes, I’ll include that detail too.

So, without further ado, Day 1:

Baked pears with carmel, a la mode

Baked pear with carmel, a la mode

Photo specs:
1/40 sec. @ f/4.0 – 105mm – ISO 200
Lens: 24-105mm f/4.0L
Ambient light only

We received some pears from a customer of mine, a whole box. Pears haven’t really been my favorite fruit so I wasn’t sure what to do with them all. However, my wife Susan quickly went to work with something she loves to do – cooking! Today she made what you see above – a baked pear with carmel sauce and some ice cream. I can’t even begin to tell you how good this was!!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. wendy / Jan 5 2010 3:19 PM

    Great Picture. I’m hoping this is on the menu the next time we visit. I will admit that I don’t care for fruit and ice cream, but this picture makes it look so good!

Leave a comment