Skip to content
December 24, 2010 / Steve

Day 358 – The Salk Institute

If imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, then hats off to you Steve Skinner (no, not me silly – the OTHER Steve Skinner, on flickr). Yes, it is strange and funny that I ended up with a friend on flickr with the same name in the same town. Anyway, I digress… When I saw his picture of this view at the Salk Institute, I was in awe and knew I had to go get my own shot of it.

The Salk Institute was established in the 1960s by Jonas Salk, M.D., the developer of the polio vaccine. Salk selected the world-renowned architect Louis I. Kahn to design his vision. The structure is sparse and raw, but beautiful in many ways (if you like contemporary architecture). This entire courtyard is travertine marble. They do biological research here, focusing on Molecular Biology and Genetics, Neurosciences, and Plant Biology.

If I were a Stormtrooper, I’d feel right at home here.

Merry Christmas Eve everyone! I guess I should have reversed yesterday and today’s pictures. This one’s not very Christmasy.

 

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sherrie / Dec 25 2010 8:40 PM

    Wow! It looks like a set from a Star Trek movie…

  2. Michael / Dec 26 2010 9:27 AM

    Phenomenal! …and I love the Star Wars reference. Classic!

  3. Steve / Dec 26 2010 8:23 PM

    Thanks Sher and Michael!

Leave a comment