Skip to content
December 20, 2010 / Steve

Day 349 – Tribal

Belize City, Belize

We had a nice day of inner tubing down a river through a giant cave system, and ended our time there by shopping in the streets near the port in Belize City; smack dab in the middle of tourist central; the type of place I usually avoid like the plague. However, the people were so great to talk to and joke around with. We were having such a great time! I tasted some terrible homemade booze that some of the street merchants were drinking (and lied about how good I thought it was), and bought a couple of things to bring home.

During all of this time, a man in tribal garb quietly followed us around at a distance. Every time I looked at him he stood so proud. He looked absolutely regal to me. He reminded me of how you feel when you’re dressed to the nines and looking especially good.

When I asked if I could take some pictures of him, he said “certainly sir… and if you would make a small donation to my village I would appreciate it.” So, I did a mini-photo session with him, and he even talked Susan into getting into the frame with him.

I don’t know what it was about him, but he left an impression on me. In the midst of the hustle and bustle of the merchants clamoring for our attention, he commanded respect and had a powerful presence. Obviously he was there to be photographed with the tourists to make some money, but as strange as it seems, I felt honored to meet him.

… and I absolutely love both of these photos so that’s where for this day there are two!

Leave a Reply

