Skip to content
December 3, 2010 / Steve

Day 336 – I’m Not Homeless, I’m In Between Homes

I went downtown to photograph a unique fountain. When I got there, it wasn’t even running! I was so disappointed.  All geared up and nothing to shoot. Or so I thought…

There was only one other person in the big civic center square, and I noticed he seemed amused by watching me. Most of the time, I will look the other way and go about my business, but this was a pretty direct encounter so I told him what I was up to and how bummed I was about the fountain not running. We introduced ourselves and talked briefly.

“Bill” educated me on the best times to get photos of the fountain when it’s on, and shared a little about himself. He made it clear that he is not homeless, but rather in between homes; and only for the last couple of years. No family to speak of, never married (but would like to be one day), and his only friends are also currently between homes.

He graciously accepted my offering for his “modeling”, and stuffed it into a baggy next to his over-sized, unlaced shoes. As we parted ways, I sheepishly headed back to my sports car across the street and drove back to my cozy 4 bedroom, 3 bath home where my wonderful wife and dog were waiting for me. Needless to say, the encounter left me feeling VERY fortunate and more than a little guilty for what I take for granted.

I shot this without a flash at a high ISO, and the processing I did even made the noise worse. I would normally try to reduce that, but in this case I like the effect.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Niki / Dec 3 2010 9:50 AM

    i love these pictures, you get to know someone who many others never gets to know

    • Steve / Dec 3 2010 10:03 AM

      Thanks Niki. Yeah, I always find other people’s stories very interesting.

  2. Michael / Dec 3 2010 9:22 PM

    Steve,

    One of my favorite photos and definitely one of my favorite of your stories. …and that’s saying a lot!

  3. Shelly / Dec 6 2010 3:35 PM

    We all need to be reminded sometimes. Not always about how much we have but how little it takes to connect with others. Thanks Steve. See you soon!!

  4. Natalie / Dec 9 2010 6:25 AM

    I remember earlier in the project you were hesitant to talk to some of the people you took photos of. I’m glad you and Bill had a nice visit.

Leave a Reply

