Skip to content
November 29, 2010 / Steve

Day 333 – Vibrant Winter Blinkers

Patches of ground cover in the canyon across from our house have begun to bloom again. The flowers are so bright and vibrant, they almost look as if they were lit from within.

I don’t know what they’re named, so I call ’em “blinkers” because they start out closed in the morning, open to the warming sun, and then close again at night. It’s also a fitting name because they are prominent along most freeways around San Diego.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Marco Fiori / Nov 30 2010 3:45 AM

    Lovely colours Steve, especially when so much of my own country is grey and snowy.

  2. Bryan / Nov 30 2010 8:48 PM

    You have a fantastic eye for color, my friend.

    Incidentally, if I know the name of the flower would you care to know it? Frankly, I prefer Blinker.

  3. Steve / Dec 1 2010 12:19 AM

    Thanks guys!

    Yes Bry, do tell! What is it? Most likely, I will still continue to call ’em blinkers.

    • Bryan / Dec 1 2010 7:33 AM

      It appears to be a Prairie Aster.

  4. Natalie / Dec 2 2010 1:33 PM

    I thought it looked like Hardy Iceplant or Delosperma cooperi

    • Steve / Dec 2 2010 1:50 PM

      I think you may be right on this one. It is a succulent plant, not a leafy one.

Leave a Reply

