Skip to content
November 8, 2010 / Steve

Day 312 – Blowing Bubbles

Blowing bubbles isn’t something I’ve done in decades, but another photographer inspired me to try my hand at photographing them.  So there I was, in line amongst the crowd of moms at Target during my lunch, buying my bottle o’ bubbles. My dog Bailey had a blast snapping them out of the air as they floated down into her realm. After the fact, I am wishing had I bought the bacon flavored bubbles from thinkgeek.com; I think she would have enjoyed those more. 🙂

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mel / Nov 8 2010 9:26 PM

    Cool pic, I love how you can see yourself in the bubble. Side note…did you blow the bubbles in the house??

    • Steve / Nov 8 2010 9:32 PM

      Yes, as if I wasn’t distorted enough already…. and yes, in the house. I realized very quickly that I had to figure out how to not drip the stuff everywhere.

      • Bryan / Nov 8 2010 10:22 PM

        Yikes.

      • Mel / Nov 9 2010 8:19 PM

        I’ll send my kids to your house to blow bubbles 🙂

      • Steve / Nov 10 2010 9:53 AM

        Bring ’em on. I’m ready. 🙂

  2. Marco Fiori / Nov 9 2010 1:30 AM

    Now this one I like! Great Steve!

    • Steve / Nov 10 2010 9:54 AM

      Thanks Marco!

  3. Natalie / Nov 10 2010 12:26 PM

    Ok, I’m dying to know… and you didn’t tell us this time.. How did you get the colors so bright within it? And what is the background? This is a totally cool picture!

  4. Steve / Nov 10 2010 12:46 PM

    Post processing was light – boosted contrast for the colors in the bubble and applied quite heavy vignetting, but most of the color was revealed from the bright window light at camera left, and then the contrast with the dark background, which is just the footboard of our bed. Without the dark backdrop, the colors didn’t “pop” – and not every bubble had that colorful swirly look. I just had to wait for the bubbles to float down until they were in front of the dark backdrop and then snap away.

Leave a Reply

