Skip to content
November 4, 2010 / Steve

Day 308 – Augmented Sunset

There have been several photos earlier in the project where people had asked if I had done a lot of processing on. I always do a little, in the way of fixing exposure and minor things that don’t affect the realism of what was photographed, but tonight I used the sunset picture as a starting point, and then really changed a bunch to finish it.

I had some fun getting artistic with tonight’s sunset, which by my standards was just so-so.

  1. For starters, the top blue area of the sky was smooth; no clouds. So, I decided to use the bottom section of the wave in the foreground of the image; flip it upside down and move it to the top and then fade it into the sky to emulate cloud texture. Blurred out and faded to be subtle, the wave makes a pretty good cloud texture, don’t you think?
  2. Next, I added the effect of  a tilt-shift lens/miniaturization effect (in photoshop)
  3. Lastly, I punched up colors and contrast in a combination of programs

This is the original, straight off the camera shown below. Normally, I would have done a more natural treatment, but since I had no focal subject and it was just an average sunset, I decided to think outside the box on this one. Strong treatment like the photo above usually elicits a polarized response; you either love it or hate it. So, which is it for you? Do you like seeing something different or do you prefer au naturale?

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Michael / Nov 5 2010 5:15 PM

    Steve, I think you definitely turned a typical sunset picture into a really interesting photo. Like you, I’m not a huge fan of the overprocessed look in general, but on occasion, it can turn into something cool like this one. Very creative!

    BTW, I took your advice and finally jumped on the Lightroom bus! See you soon!

    • Steve / Nov 6 2010 2:37 AM

      The end of the year is approaching, and it’s getting tougher to produce photos that I am happy to publicize, so sometimes I may lean on my graphic design background to help me through. 🙂

      Glad to hear you have bitten the bullet and bought Lightroom. Your life with photography will be much easier and more enjoyable now. 🙂

  2. Natalie / Nov 10 2010 12:32 PM

    Steve, I love it! It almost looks like blown glass.

Leave a Reply

