Skip to content
November 1, 2010 / Steve

Day 305 – Avocado

I had such a different idea for this picture than how it turned out but I’m pretty happy with the results. It’s just that how I saw it coming together in my mind was so much better.

The idea was to layer the two different colors of light, yellow with green above, to emulate the layers of the avocado. I was also trying to use paper as a divider to create a defined separation in the colors, and shape it (using tape) so that it resembled the curvature of the fruit as well. To make a long story short, it took forever to set up and then didn’t work out at all. So, I settled for a single medium yellow light for the background which played nice with the color in the avocado, and a flash directly above through a tube to emulate a spotlight.

I have a newfound respect for the amazing food photos you see in magazines. You must have a perfectly ripe fruit so that none of it sticks to the seed, you must cut it perfectly so there’s no lines and then of course you have to be perfect with the photography, and you have to work fast before the fruit changes color… sheez!

I won’t be trying this setup again any time soon. After spending half my evening dinking around with this shot, looking at it just frustrates me. Perhaps I’ll appreciate it in the future. What ev…

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Natalie / Nov 10 2010 12:47 PM

    I like the idea you had, very imaginative. Oddly, I’d like to see color around where the fruit is sitting, only because the background so amazingly looks like the insides. Is there a way to make just the area it sits on dark green, or brown?

    • Steve / Nov 10 2010 12:52 PM

      From this experiment I found that it’s very diffcult to blend two colored strobes in such close proximity. The colors end up blending to make a new color you didn’t want. I suppose it would be possible but you would need a lot more separation between the subject and background and some snoots to tightly control the light spread. It was much tougher to blend colors than I thought it would be.

      Good idea though!

Leave a Reply

