Skip to content
October 27, 2010 / Steve

Day 300 – Everybody’s Gone Surfin…

With Santa Ana conditions bringing near 80 degree temperatures at the beach today, nothing was going to keep me from the water’s edge at my midday break! Normally I would call it lunch, but I skipped that part today; too much of a dent in the time available. The waves were good, and offshore breezes helped keep the waves from crashing until the past possible second. In other words, conditions were perfect for surf photography. For me, surf photos are like photos of my dog Bailey. I could never get tired of ’em.

Quite often the surfers will pick up on what I’m doing and one or more will eventually come by and ask if I got any good ones of them. I usually show them what I got on the camera’s screen, and if they’re interested I give them my info. If they email me, I send them their photos. It’s a part of the whole process I really enjoy (aside from the obvious – spending time at the beach).

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mom / Oct 28 2010 9:44 AM

    Wow. Is this a perfect picture or what? A fantastic action shot with the beautiful background of gorgeous colors of the water and sky which only is found in CA. Wish I was there.

    • Steve / Oct 28 2010 10:48 AM

      I imagine you probably miss it more, knowing what it’s like to be there. Today is a carbon copy of yesterday – it’s already 72 at 11 AM.

  2. Natalie / Nov 10 2010 12:55 PM

    Stunning. I like how it seems like two differnt scenes: the dark blue water with the ship and the green/blue water with the surfer, his elbow exactly at the horizon.

Leave a Reply

