Skip to content
October 25, 2010 / Steve

Day 298 – Into the Psychedelic

This shot evolved out of tinkering with light.

We have these blinds on our sliding glass doors that have open cells, which help keep the heat out of the room in the summer. The insides of the cells are treated with some sort of reflective foil. Recognizing this as a possible channel for light, I sat my flash on the window sill and pointed it directly down the hollow channels in the blinds. From the other side, I shot the picture and discovered that not only did I get the light coming through the channels, but also the reflection of the blinds on the glass and a heavy flare from the flash. Normally, the flare from a flash is a bad thing, but I sort of liked the Isaac Asimov feel it had to it.

In post processing (photoshop), I duplicated the photo, transposed the second copy and mended them together in the middle to come up with this. It’s certainly not my best work in the 365, but it might be the most original abstract I have ever done, so that’s somethin’ I guess…

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Dave / Oct 26 2010 9:46 PM

    This is perfect. Frame this sucker and sell it to some tech company. It belongs on a wall.

  2. evenstarwen / Nov 10 2010 5:06 AM

    Very Isaac Asimov indeed.

  3. Natalie / Nov 10 2010 12:58 PM

    I’m still trying to get over that this is just blinds. This is amazing!

    • Steve / Nov 10 2010 1:00 PM

      I had to do something weird with it. Just blinds would have been really lame.

Leave a Reply

