Skip to content
October 2, 2010 / Steve

Day 275 – The Great Air Show Pictures I Almost Got

Today was the Miramar Air Show; one of my favorite events of the whole year! I got up first thing this morning and threw the camera battery on the charger and polished up my longest zoom lens, as a hunter would prep his gear before a hunt. I was ready and very excited. For the first time, we arrived before the best demonstrations began. As I got ready to start shooting…. no power. Ah, ya gotta be kiddin’ me!! I left the freakin’ battery on the *&%$# charger at home. So, I carried around my best (and heaviest) equipment all day long without the ability to use it. The car was a 30 minute walk away; ain’t happenin’ … I could use the exercise I guess. So bummed.

Aside from the punishing heat and unusual humidity, the air show was fantastic. Not being able to take photos of something I have such a passion for was a bit torturous at times. Perfect shot after perfect shot just kept passing in front of me one after the other. I had to just let it go, bear the weight of a useless camera, and enjoy the show. And, we did just that.

I took a few pictures with my cell phone camera, and this was the best of them. I guess it could have been worse; it could have happened on a long vacation in Europe or something.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mel / Oct 3 2010 9:24 PM

    oh bummer!!!! I left my battery on the charger on the morning of Kaitlyn’s communion…Rodney had to run back home to get it – luckily he made it back before it started!!!

    • Steve / Oct 4 2010 8:34 AM

      I definitely foresee the purchase of a spare battery in my near future. 🙂

  2. evenstarwen / Oct 4 2010 4:02 AM

    Bummer, but I like how you didn’t let it spoil your day. That’s the spirit.

  3. Michael K / Oct 4 2010 7:15 PM

    Man that is terrible!! I would have found someone with another fancypants camera and bought their spare from them. …and then been in big trouble at home later for paying way too much for a used battery!

Leave a Reply

