Skip to content
September 27, 2010 / Steve

Day 270 – Altar of Light

On what might turn out to be the hottest day of the year, I decided join a friend at the beach for a part of the morning.

I had intended to do some surf photography, but the haze coming in off the ocean was so heavy and thick, it was like a London fog. Surf photography was out, so here I was on the beach ready to shoot, and socked in with barely any visibility to speak of.

Before long, the rising sun started to make its way over the ridge. Just when I thought I wouldn’t even have a reason to take my lens cap off, shafts of light sculpted by the palm trees on the ridge began to shine down on the water’s edge. I don’t think anyone else even noticed, but for me it was a bit spiritual.

Of all the beach photography I’ve done, but this by far the most unusual. This one’s worth a click to see it larger.

Leave a Reply

