Skip to content
September 22, 2010 / Steve

Day 265 – Fading Light

Wait for it….. ok, it’s autumn. And, ONLY 100 days left in the project. It’s gone by so fast. Thanks to everyone who’s been following along and commenting. I really appreciate it, and I’ve truly enjoyed sharing the photos and stories.

Just as I was finishing my post work and uploading my photo for the day, 8:09 PST passed (the autumn equinox). It’s sort of fitting; since I was just noticing this week how the sun is setting earlier. I have to make more of an effort to get some outdoor sunshine before my workday actually ends. Tonight was a nice walk along Batiquitos Lagoon; a 2.6 mile out and back walk along a lush trail that is sandwiched between the shores of the lagoon and the gorgeous Aviara Golf Course.

With 100 days left, I thought you might be interested to know of some of the things on my photo wish list. These are things I’d love to photograph, and I don’t expect to be able to pull off all of them, but I will try.

  • A large, scenic view of a real pumpkin patch
  • Find some good rock towers (the kind that people build). Good ones are rare and hard to find, but very very cool!
  • Experimental scenic photos using one or more large mirrors
  • Real desert dunes (smooth curves of the sand along crest – national geographic sort of stuff)
  • Sequoia trees
  • A wild rattlesnake, in a defensive strike position
  • Badlands
  • The racetrack (mystically moved stones in an open stretch of Death Valley)
  • Cool, edgy photos from a skatepark (requires excellent skaters)

So, if I’m lucky, I’ll pull off some of these and get some respectable images. I do have a trip to Zion and Bryce national parks in Utah coming up, so there’s also some good imagery that will come out of that too.

100 days feels like the home stretch to me but it’s actually not that short of a span. Hopefully I can produce some of my best work ever in these last 100 days. We’ll see.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Michael K / Sep 23 2010 2:09 PM

    I’m sure I’m far from alone when I say that I have enjoyed the adventure to this point. Please be sure to do the rattlesnake picture on day 365 so we get to see the full year first!

    • Steve / Sep 23 2010 2:18 PM

      Ha! Don’t worry. I have it all planned out. I will indeed agitate the snake into a defensive posture, but I will do it from a distance (as far as possible – with a stick and very rude insults) and I will be using my longest zoom lens (at least this is how it all works out in my mind right now).

Leave a Reply

