Skip to content
September 18, 2010 / Steve

Day 260 – Strawberry Crater

Another late night, last-minute shoot tonight. I was not as lucky this time as I have been on other last-minute entries on the project. Capturing a strawberry dropping into a glass of milk sounds simple enough doesn’t it? HA! It’s not.

This was a really bad idea for tonight. It was 11:45 PM by the time I finished the setup and started shooting. Normally you can just snap away at a rapid pace, but with a few minutes of cleanup required between each picture, I was only going to be able to get handful of chances to get it right. As you can see, I got close – but this ain’t hand grenades or horse shoes. šŸ™‚

This was my first attempt at this type of picture, and I had high hopes, having seen this exact shot expertly done by countless other photographers on flickr. Due to the mess it creates, I won’t likely be trying this again anytime soon. Kudos to all of you photographers who’ve nailed this shot. I now understand how hard this is!

Strobist info:
540EZ bare directed onto white backdrop @ 1/4 power behind glass, camera left
430EX @ 1/2 power into small photoflex softbox, camera right and directed partially onto the glass and also the backdrop.
The base is plexiglas on top of a black card table

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Julie Kanitz / Sep 18 2010 12:10 PM

    Hi! happy weekend to you and Susan. Interesting shot…may not be what you hoped for, but it’s still pretty cool! I look forward to your creativity. Enjoy the weekend.
    jak

  2. Dave / Sep 18 2010 7:30 PM

    I think it’s really cool. I actually like that you “missed” the strawberry. I do not envy the clean up in between shots and therefore will not try to copy you!

    • Steve / Sep 18 2010 8:56 PM

      Oh come on! Got for it. šŸ™‚ Just don’t do it in the last minutes of the day.

  3. lauracee / Sep 22 2010 6:53 PM

    OOO I love the color and simplicity of this one

Leave a Reply

