Skip to content
September 15, 2010 / Steve

Day 257 – Wandering Ridge

I had an idea that required a visit to a nearby golf course after dark, so around 9:30 Bailey and I headed out. After nearly an hour of trying to put together what I could see so clearly in my head, I gave up. It just never materialized in the camera. Feeling dejected and out of patience, we headed for the car (no good bunny chases for Bailey either, which is rare on a golf course at night).

As our sandy trail ended, I stopped one last time to look back on my efforts. Right there before me was this ridge of trees, set against the night sky, and silhouetted in the warm glow of city lights in the distance. When photos happen in this way, it seems like a gift.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Gail / Sep 15 2010 6:01 AM

    Steve,
    This is breathtaking. You really nailed it. A huge WOW!!!!

  2. Mom / Sep 15 2010 8:50 AM

    What a beautiful picture! I guess gifts come when we least expect it. šŸ™‚ I blew it up to X2 and you could even see the stars in the sky. Now that’s the way to end a photo shot!

  3. Steve / Sep 15 2010 9:09 AM

    Thanks a bunch Gail & Mom!

    I noticed this morning when sitting in a fully lighted room that the stars in the picture don’t show up like they do when the light is lower. It does look much better large, and better still in a darker setting.

  4. Dave / Sep 15 2010 9:22 PM

    Isn’t it great when “it” just happens after you quit trying. There really is something to that phenomenon. Great shot.

Leave a Reply

