Skip to content
September 8, 2010 / Steve

Day 251 – Architectural Balance

A power outage messed with my work day this morning, so I had a lot of catching up to do once the lights were back on. By late evening, I was feeling the need to get out of the house for a bit, so I visited one of my favorite spots that almost guarantees me a decent picture, and a nice walk; Balboa Park.

There was plenty of activity tonight at the San Diego Museum of Art. Some sort of event had just let out. With all the lights blaring and the fountain on, it was a perfect photo opportunity for some long exposures. I just love the symmetry and balance between the architecture and the fountain. This one’s worth a click to see it bigger. The detail of the architecture is very intricate and I like how its fine detail contrasts with the soft, misted look of the water in the foreground.

This one is a 13 second exposure at f/11, ISO 50.

If you’ve been following along with the project, you might be thinking that I really love doing night-time long exposures. I do enjoy them, but more often than not, it’s just tough to squeeze in time for pictures during the work day. As a result, learning to work with low light and less than ideal conditions has taught me volumes about working with available light, how to use angles, pay attention to shadows, etc.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mom / Sep 9 2010 6:32 AM

    I’ve really enjoyed many of your “night” pictures but this one is outstanding – especially loved the detail shown in the bigger picture. How beautiful!

    • Steve / Sep 9 2010 8:12 AM

      Thanks! I think my personal favorite of the long exposures so far is Day 111.

Leave a Reply

