Skip to content
August 28, 2010 / Steve

Day 240 – Cost Highway 101

Susan and I went down to the coast highway for some lunch and then strolled through the Seaside Bazaar in Encinitas afterward. Susan bought a hat; I took a picture.

I’ve seen a picture of these grates before, and always wondered where they were. Only two days ago did I finally notice them, and they were smack dab in the middle of an area where I’ve spent a ton of time!  They are iron grates around the bases of trees that grow out of the sidewalks on the coast highway. I guess my powers of observation aren’t as sharp as I thought. 🙂

There’s some sort of element to this picture that I like, which is hard to describe. Living near the 101 does actually feel like a huge privilege. We spent a great deal of time in places along this great road, and it’s the only highway I know of where slow moving traffic is actually a good thing.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Bryan / Aug 28 2010 7:39 PM

    I wonder how easy it’d be to swipe one of those..

Leave a Reply

