Skip to content
August 16, 2010 / Steve

Day 228 – Heavenly Light

I missed a good sunset tonight because I was being lazy, but that wasn’t a bad thing. The reputation of Mondays held true for me today, so I was glad to get it over with and unwind a little.

After a nice dinner with Susan, and some couch time to watch a little TV, I set out to get the photo for the day. Some days, I just get in the car and go, with no specific direction in mind. It usually doesn’t take long at all, and sometimes this approach yields great results; other times it’s just a waste of gas. With no clouds visible off shore, it’s always a good idea to see what’s happening at the beach.

This picture is a shot of a crescent moon, and I wanted to catch how the moonlight shimmers on the water using a long exposure. I was pretty sure I knew what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised with the results. This would normally fall into the category of an improperly exposed moon shot, because you can’t see any detail in it whatsoever. However, the overblown light from the moon has a pleasing angelic/religious overtone that I liked, and in post processing, a vignette helped to focus and shape this light, enhancing the effect even more. It kind of reminds me of the “light” that you’ve heard people describe after a near death experience. In my imagination, this is what it would look like, minus the streaks of light from a passing airplane. 🙂

Chalk that up to another lesson learned thanks to this project:
Don’t get so caught up in how it’s “supposed to be done” that you miss something special from deviating from the norm from time to time.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Michael K / Aug 17 2010 12:07 PM

    Fantastic photo! One of my favorite.

  2. Natalie / Aug 20 2010 11:20 AM

    Wow! I wouldn’t have thought you could get a shot of the moon like this! Amazing.

Leave a Reply

