Skip to content
August 10, 2010 / Steve

Day 222 – Greek Eye Candy

The crisp white lines, and shimmering golden dome of Saints Constantine & Helen Greek Orthodox Church in nearby Cardiff By The Sea is like a beacon in the community when the skies are as blue as they were today. This could easily be Santorini.

A couple of weeks ago, Susan pointed out how this dome reflects what appears to be another cross shape when the sunlight hits it on a clear day. I never noticed it before she mentioned it, but it was a great idea for a future photo. All I had to do was wait for the perfect sky conditions; and that happened today.

This church is about a mile and a half from our home, making today’s shot very convenient and easy. I shot only a handful of pictures; utilizing a circular polarizer to bring out the colors and manage reflections. I actually spent just as much time figuring out how to crop this in a way that wasn’t just another picture of a beautiful building. Every way I tried seemed to steal attention from that gorgeous dome and the cobalt blue sky. I used a 24 x 8 crop, which is a panoramic crop that is usually too skinny for my taste, but in this case it just felt perfect. I was attempting to use the angular lines of the church to lead your eyes through the photo, landing at the focal point of the picture. To me, this one falls into the category of “eye candy”.

I just love the classic, clean white lines of Greek architecture! My friend Mel, who comments occasionally on this blog, clued me in on this style of crop. Thanks Mel!

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Dave / Aug 10 2010 8:06 PM

    amazing! I love the crop and reflections..

  2. Mel / Aug 10 2010 8:42 PM

    Tell Susan good eye on the reflection!! You have her thinking like a photographer 🙂 Love the crop – it works great here!

  3. Natalie / Aug 12 2010 8:31 AM

    Gorgeous! I like also how the two crosses face different directions.

  4. Marco / Aug 12 2010 8:35 AM

    I love the deep blue in this Steve, great shot!

  5. Pia / Aug 12 2010 12:33 PM

    I concur — great shot! I think you cropped it just right. Nice job.

Leave a Reply

