Skip to content
August 2, 2010 / Steve

Day 214 – Snooted Sunflower

Sometimes you just want a beam of light to hit your subject and nothing else, allowing the surrounding area to fall away into darkness; just as a spotlight does in a Broadway production. To emulate this in photography, you use a “snoot”, which in my case is a cardboard tube that was once a mailer for a large print I ordered some time ago. It just happens to fit nicely around the business end of my flash and fastens into place with masking tape. A sheet of Plexiglas on a black card table provides the reflective surface on which the sunflowers take their place for their day 214 photo shoot.

I’d like to give a shout out to my friend Dave, who really helped me learn photographic lighting, and who taught me that a snoot is more than just a big schnoz.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Natalie / Aug 12 2010 8:49 AM

    Great shot! Seems so simple, and yet I can’t do shots like this. Love the reflection too!

Leave a Reply

