Skip to content
August 1, 2010 / Steve

Day 213 – A Drag of a Sunset

As a follow-up to my last sunset picture, which I had described as a “painterly” look, I decided to take that concept a little further and try something more abstract with the layers of color in the setting sun.

Just as an artist’s brush drags color across the canvas, I tried to emulate this by literally dragging the camera across the sky, horizontally, during a 1 second exposure. The motion is similar to tracking a plane across the sky with the camera to get a shot of it in flight; only I was trying to track the camera across the right parts of the sky and horizon to get a good color and contrast combination. The result is actually severe motion blur, dragging the colors and textures of the sunset scene horizontally across the frame. There aren’t many times when I’m actually trying to achieve good motion blur, but this is an exception, and also the first time I’ve tried this.

Tell me what you think. Would you have preferred to see the regular sunset and detail of the clouds and the water, or do you look at this as a welcome variation from the status-quo of sunset photos? Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE the “regular” sunset picture, but I am interested to see what the impression would be on a different interpretation of an old favorite.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rantz / Aug 2 2010 1:35 AM

    Magical shot – absolutely beautiful.

  2. Marco / Aug 2 2010 1:58 AM

    Very unique approach to a an often overused photo-subject.

  3. Mel / Aug 2 2010 11:36 PM

    It would look great printed on a canvas gallery wrap.

  4. Natalie / Aug 3 2010 12:34 PM

    I love this! Well done!

Leave a Reply

