Skip to content
July 29, 2010 / Steve

Day 210 – Evening Hummer

We’ve started to get some hummingbirds familiar with our feeder, which I just refilled recently, and I thought it would be cool to get a great shot of a hummingbird. Well, this isn’t as easy as it might sound. It’s HARD!

First of all, they aren’t just hanging out all the time so you can just set up and start shooting. And then when they are, you’ve got to have your finger on the button or you’ll miss it. The process reminds me of fishing; lots of waiting with short, infrequent bursts of activity. If you’re lucky, you’ll catch a good one. Well, today was my equivalent of the one that was barely just enough to call a keeper, but it’s a start.

I haven’t conquered this beast yet so you can expect to see at least one better hummer in the future. Of course I’m hoping to get my own perfect, frozen wing, crystal clear, National Geographic-worthy shot. I can already tell that I’ll be lucky to get it.

What I really need is to figure out how to get them to want to constantly hang out at my feeder. Does anyone have a recipe for hummingbird cocaine?

Leave a Reply

