Skip to content
July 28, 2010 / Steve

Day 209 – Infinity Counter Top

Something very peculiar happened today leading up to today’s picture…

There have been times during this project where I have gone to great lengths to get a good shot or capture something interesting. Today, I fumbled upon this shot accidentally, without even looking. No vision or inspiration, no planning, and I wasn’t even touching the camera.

Awhile back, while shooting long exposures on a very windy, sand blown Carlsbad State Beach to get the shot for Day 111 (pictured at right), I ruined a remote shutter trigger, or so I thought. Sand had gotten into the device and it never worked the same again. Well, today I decided to take a stab at fixing it myself. Since I would have to buy another one anyway, there was nothing to lose by trying.

The fix was surprisingly easy. Once I got it apart, all I had to do was remove some fine grains of sand and a bunch of dust, clean off the contacts and screw it back together. The last thing to do is to test it, right? So, I just set my camera on the nearest counter top, and started firing off a bunch of test shots, waiting for it to fail again. Since I wasn’t intending to take pictures, I wasn’t even noticing what the camera was taking pictures of… until the last frame. I laughed out loud. How many times have I agonized over trying to come up with something cool? More than I can remember! And then, I get something like this by accident.  Go figure!

I applied HDR processing to spice up the colors and contrast, but other than that, this is really how it looked. I never even noticed this “scene” before, but now I can’t walk by the counter without noticing this cool effect on the view of my back yard.

Today was a very cool day on the project for me. I fixed a gadget, feeling very handy and proud; I saved the money of having to replace the item; and I got the coolest “whoops” picture ever, making it a no-brainer for Day 209.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Dave / Jul 28 2010 8:47 PM

    Now that’s a good day! It’s beautiful out, you fixed some equipment, you got a GREAT shot, and you’ll never look at your backyard the same again.

    Good Karma right here.

  2. Bryan / Jul 28 2010 9:16 PM

    Everything’s coming up Skinman! Buy a lottery ticket, homeslice. You never know.

  3. Michael K / Jul 28 2010 9:30 PM

    Great shot! I showed it to Pia and she immediately said, “hey, I know that view!”. 🙂

  4. Mel / Jul 28 2010 9:54 PM

    The HDR looks great…I want to hang out in your yard!!

  5. Sherrie / Jul 29 2010 7:33 AM

    OK, this is a seriously great discovery and such a cool picture. Now, I know you have a nice backyard, but at this angle it looks like a tropical paradise.

  6. Steve / Jul 29 2010 7:54 AM

    Thanks everyone!

  7. Julie Kanitz / Jul 31 2010 9:26 AM

    What a day you had! Another true benefit of this project for you!

Leave a Reply

