Skip to content
July 22, 2010 / Steve

Day 203 – Anatomy of a Splash

I spent a little time dropping and photographing a golf ball splash landing into my jacuzzi this evening. It wasn’t that interesting. However, in taking a closer look at the splash, I found an abstract pattern worth inclusion into the project. I don’t do very many abstracts because they don’t come easy to me like other things. So naturally, I’m always pretty stoked when I find something intriguing in what was otherwise a shot for the recycle bin.

(definitely looks better big, when clicked…)

Strobist info:
430EX bare at full power camera right
1/160 sec. | f/8.0 | ISO 50 | 65mm
Split tone processed for blue coloring in Adobe Lightroom 3

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Henry Elliss / Jul 23 2010 3:47 AM

    A beautiful shot – The best photos like this are ones you didn’t mean to take. You just KNOW that if you had TRIED to take a shot like this, it would have failed 🙂

    • Steve / Jul 23 2010 7:27 AM

      So true! Thanks Henry.

  2. Bryan / Jul 23 2010 10:00 PM

    Let me know when you want a picture of a golfball going into sand. Or trees. Or shrubs.

    • Steve / Jul 23 2010 10:09 PM

      HA! You crack me up Bry….

Leave a Reply

