Skip to content
July 10, 2010 / Steve

Day 190 – Two Birds with One Stone

I had to deal with a drippy faucet in the kitchen tonight, so while I was working on  it I figured why not use this to drip to my advantage and stop the action with a fast shutter speed and get a picture for today. Works for me; I didn’t have time for much else today. Plus still no freakin’ sunshine! It’s unbelievable how colorless everything is without sunshine. I’m seriously going through some sort of withdrawal. While the rest of the country is enjoying nice summer heat, we’re stuck in record low temperatures and overcast conditions that might as well be London fog! It’s like the worst June gloom ever, and was supposed to be long gone by now. Ok, enough griping about the weather…

I took a couple of pictures and notice the bokeh effect from the torchiere light off in the living room. So, I worked on centering the drips on that and then the trick was just taking enough pictures to get the right timing. Focus could have been a tad better, but I had little time and even less patience tonight.

Strobist info:

Single speedlite – my trusty 430EX at camera right on a tripod, at about a 2 o’clock position, set in ETTL (automatic) using a long cord and high speed sync for my 1/2000 shutter speed, f/1.8 and ISO 400 with the little 50mm lens.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sherrie / Jul 10 2010 8:19 AM

    This is a cool pic — I love it when the photographer finds the extraordinary in the very ordinary.

    • Steve / Jul 10 2010 11:20 AM

      Thanks Sher! I also was pleasantly surprised at what came out of this experiment.

Leave a Reply

