Skip to content
July 6, 2010 / Steve

Day 186 – Light Experiment

Post for Monday, July 5th

There are some photographers who work with light in very interesting ways, and I’m interested in learning how to emulate what they do. So, last night involved some experimentation, resulting in more of a technical post for the day.

I was working with some beads from New Orleans, using them for bokeh (blurred) specular highlights and a vase from my office. As a starting point, I suppose it’s ok, but I’m not all that thrilled with it. I have a lot to learn, and need to find a better “bokeh maker”.

My idea was to have the vase sort of disappear into the background while still having it’s colorful highlights and the blurred bead highlights coming out the top. The most important thing I figured out is that you really need to have space between your backdrop and your lights to prevent the background from being visible. Suddenly the work space in my garage doesn’t feel that spacious.

I didn’t “nail it”, but it’s a starting point for this technique.

Strobist info:

  • 430EX @ 1/16 power, camera left shot through a snoot onto the beads which were suspended on a string
  • 540EZ @ 1/32 power, camera right directed across the front of the vase.
  • 5D Mark II | 1/160 sec. | f/1.8 | ISO 50 | 50mm
One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Kim / Jul 8 2010 10:09 PM

    Hi Steve- I’m back-been away from the computer for a while- have a a smile on my face as I look at your photograghs along with your expanations. i really like this concept- I see what you are trying to achieve- and I LIKE IT- keep working at it- you will get what you want.
    Love Kim

Leave a Reply

