Skip to content
July 1, 2010 / Steve

Day 182 – Unconditional Surrender

Remember that photo of the iconic kiss from the end of WWII? Well, it was recreated in a 25 ft., 3 ton statue and titled “Unconditional Surrender”.  It has visited a few cities since 2005, and it current sits on the waterfront in San Diego next to the Midway Carrier Museum. Initially I was wishing for better light on the statue, but I ended up really liking the partial silhouette.

The statue is currently on loan to the city through the end of August 2010. There is a non-profit group raising funds to try to keep it here. Who knows what will happen. The woman in the picture is Edith Shain, who recently passed away at her home in Los Angeles at the age of 92. Read more about it here.

On another note –
Today is the HALF WAY point in the 365 Project! It seems to have all gone by so fast. Thanks to everyone who’s been following along, enjoying the pictures and of course all the great comments! Keep ’em coming; I love that part of it!

A special thanks to my good friend Dave, who I talked into doing this project along with me. It’s been great to share ideas, inspiration and frustrations through the process. Hopefully we’ll make it through the year without you wanting to kill me for dragging you into this. 🙂

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mel / Jul 1 2010 9:26 PM

    congrats on halfway through – I love seeing all them, I’ll miss your posts come Jan 1!! I hope you make a fabulous coffee table book out of these when you are done!

    • Steve / Jul 1 2010 9:33 PM

      Thanks Mel! That’s the plan!

      I am seriously considering continuing on with a new project in 2011, but we’ll cross that bridge when I get there. I may feel like a break after the second half of this year. With that being said, I have really grown to love sharing photos with the story in the blog format. It’s much more interactive and fun than the usual flickr posts. Sometimes it’s the story that makes the photo special.

      New comment on your post “Day 182 – Unconditional Surrender” > Author : Mel (IP: 66.75.227.161 , cpe-66-75-227-161.san.res.rr.com) > E-mail : melissat@san.rr.com > URL : > Whois : http://ws.arin.net/cgi-bin/whois.pl?queryinput=66.75.227.161

  2. Dave / Jul 1 2010 9:35 PM

    cool shot again….
    Congrats on half way, you have done an amazing job. I seriously don’t think I could do this without your inspiration.

    • Steve / Jul 1 2010 9:50 PM

      That’s really nice of you to say, but I’ve learned at least as much from you, “El Strobist”!

  3. Michael / Jul 2 2010 5:56 PM

    Steve, congrats on the discipline to make it this far! Your pictures are amazing and have really inspired me to get more into photography. One of these days we’ll get down there (or get you guys up here) and I’ll have you show me some of your tricks. Have a great 4th and tell your wonderful wife we say hi!

    -Michael

    • Steve / Jul 2 2010 8:58 PM

      Hi Michael! It’s great to hear from you. Thanks a bunch on the congrats. It’s been interesting to say the least. If you ever plan a trip down here, let us know. You’re always welcome here. Susan will be happy to hear you said Hi too! We miss you guys.

  4. Kim / Jul 8 2010 10:19 PM

    Nice picture–lighting and back ground really brings the statue to the forfront- good job
    Kim

Leave a Reply

