Skip to content
July 1, 2010 / Steve

Day 181 – Luminary

Post for Wednesday, June 30th

Luminary: (lü-mə-ˌner-ē) A body that gives light; a person of prominence

This started out as a simple picture; a candle within a crystal bowl. To me, it’s somewhat interesting, but there was an element to it that I liked; more so than the pork chops and asparagus cooking on the bbq earlier in the evening. I was surprised at how much light was created from this one little flame when placed inside this bowl. I imagine it has something to do with the facets in the glass, in a similar way the optics of a lighthouse glass are built to amplify light.

When I looked up the definition of the word I wanted to use for the title I was intrigued by the meaning of that word. (Yes, I will sometimes look up a word to make sure it’s real and that my usage is correct – don’t want to pull a George W. Bush after all…) Anyway, the definition and the picture itself sort of have a spiritual connotation and I thought about how we are all luminaries in our own way; how the light we shed in our lives (the things we do) affects those around us.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Bryan / Jul 3 2010 11:07 PM

    I cannot think of anything more fitting:

    • Steve / Jul 4 2010 6:00 AM

      Amen brotha! 🙂

Leave a Reply

