Skip to content
June 23, 2010 / Steve

Day 174 – Fortune-Less

Panda Express for dinner this evening. My fortune cookie was empty when I cracked it open. I know it’s a down economy, but cutting back on the fortunes inside the cookie – that’s just wrong! 🙂
I’ve been working with this white background a lot lately and totally separating the subject from the background. It was originally a challenge to figure out how to light that correctly to get smooth pure white backgrounds, and now that I know how to do it, I find that I like a bit of dimension in the negative space (as in this one), which can be done either with intentional uneven lighting or vignetting in post.
Strobist info:
  • AB800 @ 1/4 power into 64″ PLM with diffuser, camera right and above
  • 430EX @ 1/8 power directed onto the white poster board background, camera left and slightly behind subject
Leave a Reply

