Skip to content
June 23, 2010 / Steve

Day 173 – Beach Goats

Goats might be normal in many places, but not where we live in San Diego. On the way home from the beach one day, Susan noticed this herd of goats off the roadside. It seemed pretty random and quite out of place, and I knew I’d be back at some point to include them in the project. Most beach towns I’ve been to don’t have herds of goats in the neighborhood.

So, I drove up and cased the joint out. The goats were well off the main street, but it looked like there was some sort of easement which I could just stroll right up to the goats on without trespassing. I reminded myself not to be a chicken to “get the shot” so I grabbed the camera and started my approach. As I neared the fence, the goats noticed me and headed toward me while bleating loudly. Being the city folk I am, I had to look up what the noise they make was called. 🙂 I digress…

The commotion of the goats was apparently enough to wake Cujo, the killer golden retriever from his nap. He came out of nowhere, and with a vengeance. I nearly soiled myself! Running as fast as I could in flip-flops (which is… not fast), my butt was as good as bitten. Strange thing though, he skidded to a halt as we neared the property line. I can only assume it was some sort of underground electric dog fence or something. Anyway, I was lucky to escape the thrashing he had in store for me. At that moment I realized… I’m only wearing one flip-flop. Screw the goats; Cujo was still barking like crazy and I just wanted out of there. I headed back to the car with a lopsided one-shoe stride.

While I was sitting in the car thinking of other possible shots for the day, a crusty old gentleman came out to get his mail from the mailbox right in front of “the kill zone”. From the “bed head” hairstyle he was sporting, I can only assume all the commotion woke him from his afternoon nap. I jumped out of the car and approached him and asked if I could take some pictures of his goats. He looked at me sort of strange but quickly said ok. Feeling guilty about my trespass, I tried to explain I thought the area was an easement but he had little interest in any conversation with me. So, with the permission of sleepy crusty guy, and Cujo in check, I took 5 minutes or so to snap a few pictures of his herd while keeping an eye on my back the whole time. My plan B, in case he said no, was to kindly ask if I could just go retrieve my flip-flop. It all worked out though. I headed back to work with my picture of the day, unbitten and with two flip-flops.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sherrie / Jun 23 2010 5:15 AM

    I love this pic and the story of the great flip flop adventure…

    • Steve / Jun 23 2010 9:48 AM

      It was an adventure to be sure!

  2. Bryan / Jun 25 2010 9:48 AM

    Man, that’s a great story.

  3. Julie Kanitz / Jun 27 2010 2:50 PM

    Thanks for the laugh today! You know I’m seeing this as a book or movie someday… a comedy for sure… just what could the title be…. 🙂

  4. Sand Sock Girl / Jun 27 2010 8:45 PM

    Awesome photo! I love that the patches of the goat’s skin matches pretty well with the rest of the background.

Leave a Reply

