Skip to content
June 16, 2010 / Steve

Day 166 – A Nice Widow Famiwy

If the title is confusing; it’s not a typo. Say it like Elmer Fudd…

For starters, I would lake to apologize for those of you heebed out by spiders (especially my sis – sorry Sher!). After tonight, I am a little creeped out as well. Sometimes lack of inspiration leads to strange photo experiments, and that is how I ended up with this.

I got some great exercise this evening and was absolutely exhausted. Having nothing to shoot and no motivation to do it whatsoever, I found myself standing in my garage, just looking around at things. It was 11 PM and I was wishing I had gone to bed a couple hours ago. Anyway, I noticed  a pretty substantial web in the corner of the garage, so I went and got bug spray and a flashlight. Yep… Black Widow. After I nuked her with spray, I started looking around because these things sort of have a season and they all seem to show up together, despite their very anti-social behavior. Ironic isn’t it?

To make a long story short, they love dark corners and especially the underside of patio furniture. I had the chairs all turned over (scored 2 kills) and I also crawled around the air spaces by our A/C units on the outside of the house (very tentatively); scored 2 more there. Black widows were everywhere I went. To say I was “heebed out” doesn’t quite describe it, but it didn’t matter; I was on a mission. To kill one or two would have been coffee talk, but as they started to add up, I decided that my picture of the day would be my hit list. Some people are deer hunters; I am the grim reaper of venomous spiders – mwahaha!

Now it’s late and I’m wide awake; twitching at every little wisp of something against my arm or foot, thinking it’s a spider…

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Marco / Jun 16 2010 12:50 AM

    God that gave me shudders. Interesting shot though!

    • Sherrie / Jun 16 2010 6:02 AM

      All I can say is, at least their dead and you’re not holding one and chasing me around the house with it. This is a truly horrifying picture subject. I mean if you could just easily find five in one evening, how many are actually lurking about?

      I usually check in once a day to see the new photo, but I may have to wait a week or so to return, since I don’t want to “accidentally” see this photo again.

      • Steve / Jun 23 2010 9:51 AM

        Ahh, such fond memories of the spider chase!!

  2. Shelly / Jun 16 2010 2:29 PM

    OMG! Now, I can NEVER come over….

  3. Julie Kanitz / Jun 16 2010 7:41 PM

    Oh my! I’m with Sherrie….how many more are out there just waiting to find you when you least suspect it? ahahhaha…. those are nasty looking….

    • Steve / Jun 16 2010 8:20 PM

      Nope, that’s it. Got ’em all! 🙂

  4. Gia Madatyan / Jun 23 2010 10:48 PM

    I am not happy to have wandered onto this page…not at all.

    • Steve / Jun 23 2010 11:01 PM

      Hi Gia! Glad you found the blog, although I’m sorry you had to stumble upon this one so early in the game, but I got a good laugh out of your comment. Thanks for the comment on Phan’s picture as well. Nice of you to say.

  5. Natalie / Jul 13 2010 8:13 AM

    You are a braver soul than me. Having found one I would have been freaked out, but to go hunting for more? You are insane.. (maybe too much hot sauce?) Yikes.. Makes me rethink traveling that direction…

Leave a Reply

