Skip to content
June 14, 2010 / Steve

Day 164 – Almost Due

Many weeks ago at a backyard barbecue with some friends, we were all marveling at the burgeoning belly of our friend Phan, who was six or seven months pregnant at the time.

In the past, I’ve seen some very nice, artistic portraits of expectant mothers and I thought it would be great to try, especially with a friend. It seemed like a long shot,  but “the answer is always no if you don’t ask” (one of my favorite sayings). So, I asked… There was a mixed bag of reactions from the group, ranging from normal/intrigued –  to getting looks like I had a third eye! We all laughed it off and the conversation moved on. Oh well.

Weeks later, Phan called me to tell me she was interested in taking me up on my offer. I was completely stoked, excited, inspired, and also suddenly very nervous. I haven’t done this type of shoot before and it’s not exactly like doing your casual everyday portrait. I’d be capturing an important moment in someone’s life that will be remembered and looked back on for years to come. If I didn’t screw it up, that memory could be really enhanced with a beautiful portrait. No pressure…. although I was the only one putting the pressure on me.

So, I did my homework and researched similar photos to try to gain some inspiration for different types of shots, and mostly what NOT to do on this type of shoot.  In the end, we had a great time doing it and had the whole family involved. As you can see, it all worked out.  There were lots of good ones to choose from, and we wrapped up the day by having another backyard barbecue with almost the same group of friends that the idea originated from.

Phan and Andy,
Thank you for letting me contribute to your memories of this special time in your lives!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Pia / Jun 15 2010 9:01 AM

    It’s the other half of the AAAAASIAN INVAAAAASION! Steve, I love love LOVE this pic. This is probably my fave preggo picture I’ve ever seen. So sweet, just like Phan.

  2. Gia Madatyan / Jun 23 2010 10:45 PM

    Steve – LOVE this picture! I saw it on Phan’s Facebook and immediately went onto yours hoping to see more of them! Great job. You certainly captured the beauty of the mom and belly. Please send my regards to Susan too!

Leave a Reply

