Skip to content
June 11, 2010 / Steve

Day 162 – Che Bella!

I went out to shoot a specific subject today at lunch, and then on the way home when I stopped for some grub I saw a Ferrari F430 parked just a few spaces away from me. Priorities for today’s post quickly got re-shuffled, which is putting it lightly. I’m a grown man who gets like a little kid on Christmas morning when I get close to these cars. I LOVE Italian supercars. The “other subject” that I had already shot, while quite awesome, is not nearly as mobile as these babies so I’ll reshoot that sometime again in the coming days. In the mean time, enjoy some automotive art.

One common question is: “what does the S J in the Ferrari logo mean”? It’s actually an S and an F, which means Scuderia Ferrari. For those of you who yawn about car stuff, you can stop reading here.

Scuderia is Italian for a stable reserved to racing horses, and the word is also used for race car teams. Ferrari is the last name of Enzo Ferrari, the founder of the company. The prancing horse on the Ferrari emblem was the symbol on the WWI fighter plane of Italian ace Francesco Baracca, and became the logo of Ferrari after the fallen ace’s parents, who were good friends with Enzo Ferrari, asked him to continue his tradition of sportsmanship, gallantry and boldness.

So there you have it, now you know a little more about one of the coolest car companies on the planet, which still makes their cars by hand. For them, automobiles are art, and they are priced accordingly.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Bryan / Jun 12 2010 12:15 AM

    Gorgeous. I remember both of us drooling over Car & Driver back in the day. Good times, good times.

  2. Marco / Jun 12 2010 2:54 AM

    Aww, that me drool. The best I can do is http://www.flickr.com/photos/marcofiori/4645754638/

Leave a Reply

