Skip to content
June 3, 2010 / Steve

Day 154 – Enthusiastic Fisherwoman

I went to Oceanside pier this evening, fishing for pictures, and caught a very cool woman who also went fishing… for fish. 🙂 I’d bet good money on that being a lucky fishing cap!

June Gloom was in full effect, so that means no visible sunset. There were still plenty of people out, strolling the pier and several people lining the edges of the pier fishing.

This picture is of a woman and her son (background left), who had a VERY watchful eye over his mom. He clearly did not take kindly to me taking pictures of her, and once I did he never let me out of his sight. Good thing I only took two of them! I would have taken a few more, had it not been for the “I’ll kick your ass” vibe this dude was sending my way.

During the same time, I had been traversing from one side of the pier to the other, taking pictures of surfers, and was actually getting a kick out of watching him watch me; mad dogging me. I thought it was cool that he was being so protective of his mom, despite his overly aggressive manner. When I had a chance to make eye contact with him, I said hello, complimented his mother’s funny hat and asked how the fishing was. He loosened right up and chuckled about his mom’s hat while rolling his eyes. Our conversation was friendly, but very brief. It was only then that I realized that he had several lines in the water and a couple of them were getting bites at the same time. I guess the fishing was going pretty well. I betcha it’s because of the lucky cap!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Shelly / Jun 4 2010 11:27 AM

    Well, I guess it’s true what they say,
    A family that fishes together….

    Love, love, love your pictures Steve!

  2. Julie Kanitz / Jun 4 2010 2:57 PM

    Nice comments. Made me chuckle. I like the format of the site too. I have been on a business trip this week so wasn’t on line. Enjoy the weekend. jak

Leave a Reply

