Skip to content
May 31, 2010 / Steve

Day 151 – Memorial Day

I went to Point Loma this evening, to try to capture Fort Rosecrans National Cemetery at sunset. I’ve been planning to do this shot for a couple of weeks, considering it would have the most significance today. However, I forgot that because it’s on a military reservation, they close off access to that area of Point Loma at dusk. BUMMER! The guard informed me and sent me on my way. No worries though – a great fellow 365’er Jill Quan had the same idea and got the shot at a military cemetery in her neck of the woods.

So, here I am out on Point Loma at sunset, dejected. My last-ditch effort was to pull off at an area with a great view out to sea and grab a nice sunset picture. I got lucky, in that it was a pretty spectacular one!

It’s important to remember that Memorial Day is much more than just a long holiday weekend to relax and have fun with friends and family. To those of you who are, or have in the past served in the armed forces, thank you! Your service and sacrifice has not gone unnoticed or unappreciated here!

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. debbe / May 31 2010 10:13 PM

    I love the colour! That’s gorgeous!

  2. Mom / Jun 1 2010 8:24 AM

    This sunset is breath taking. I love it. Sorry you missed the cemetery shot but this one is a keeper and reminds me of our time at Point Loma together a few weeks ago.

  3. Dave / Jun 1 2010 8:29 PM

    Unbelievable!! I think the good karma of attempting to go to the cemetery caught up with you for the sunset.

  4. Beth / Jun 2 2010 11:08 AM

    Great picture Steve. As our family is praying for a friends daughter this picture gives me inspiration. Thanks for the post.

  5. Jill / Jun 26 2010 12:35 AM

    Hey, thanks for the plug!

    • Steve / Jun 26 2010 8:00 AM

      No problem. You got a great shot for that day!

Leave a Reply

