Skip to content
May 28, 2010 / Steve

Day 147 – Specular Vin

Tonight I put together a creative idea that I’ve been thinking about for a while, and since I wanted to work on my strobist skills again, it was a fun shot to figure out. Not long ago, I noticed that a glass of liquid vertically flips whatever you can see on the other side. Maybe I’m just not that observant. That explains why the wine bottle in the back is upside down.

Dark scenes and specular highlights are often pretty difficult to shoot, and while I think this could still be done much better, I’m pretty happy with it.

I used my two accessory flashes to light the scene:

430EX camera left, 1/32 power, shot through a snoot and directed across the wine bottle label at an angle so the light would not land on the backdrop.

540EZ camera right, 1/32 power, shot at table level and pointed from low to high across the backdrop surface

Leave a Reply

