Skip to content
May 22, 2010 / Steve

Day 141 – Drama at Sea

Ok, so this is one of those “look at the clouds and tell me what you see” exercises… except that this is smoke instead of clouds.

I titled this post Drama at Sea because I see an orca and a shark closing in on each other in turbulent water. Susan saw this too, but she also saw a paper clip that I still don’t see.

Strobist info:
430EX @ camera left, 1/4 power behind the smoke source at 10 o’clock position
540EZ @ camara right, 1/4 power also behind the source at 2 o’clock position

I used black poster board for the backdrop and nearby objects to block the light from the lens to prevent flares. No gels were used; apparently the 540 EZ and the 430EX flashes have a different color light. This was further accentuated in Lightroom and Photoshop.

I shot this last night; late. Too tired to post so I’m doing it this morning…. and I still smell like patchouli incense. Is second-hand smoke from incense as bad as cigarettes?

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Natalie / May 22 2010 7:18 PM

    Just when I think I have seen my favorite, you do another amazing photo! I completely saw the orca and shark right away, but just the difference in color of the smoke is incredible. It’s one of those that doesn’t look like much, but there is a lot there! I’m not seeing the paperclip either… still looking.

    • Steve / May 23 2010 9:43 AM

      Thanks for the comments Natalie. I always appreciate hearing what people think. It was a really challenging week for me; the shots didn’t come easy. I worked a lot and ended up having to do my shots in the last hours of the day.

Leave a Reply

