Skip to content
May 20, 2010 / Steve

Day 140 – Lighted Lily

The Easter Lily’s are arriving late this year. The first of the blooms are out and I decided to be a little different and do a long exposure light painting featuring the first blooms. Tonight, I played tennis for the first time in a while, and man you really feel it in tennis when you’ve slacked off! I’m absolutely exhausted; this is all I could manage today. Still, I wanted to try to make it unique.

This is a 56 sec. exposure @ f/22, ISO 50. Once I hit the button to open the shutter, I began with a red laser pointer, making the lines on the petals. I did this for about 15 or 20 seconds. For about another 30 seconds, an LED flashlight was used to “paint” with light from underneath the flowers and then some on the top. The blue cast on the flowers is from the LED lights. When are they going to start making real white LED’s??

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mary Skinner / May 21 2010 7:19 AM

    Enjoyed this shot of the lilies. How unique! I don’t believe I’ve ever seen blue lilies before. 🙂 Hope you have recovered from tennis. Ha.

  2. Niki / May 21 2010 9:50 AM

    i looooooooooooooove this!

  3. Natalie / May 22 2010 7:17 PM

    Love, love, love this shot! The pointer lighting is awesome on it’s own, but the LED ligthing really makes it. Makes me imagine some crazy dance music, or a midnight bowling alley… Love lillies.

Leave a Reply

