Skip to content
May 19, 2010 / Steve

Day 139 – Dog Walk

I took Bailey for a very late night walk tonight, and brought my camera along since I hadn’t shot anything yet. For as busy as this neighborhood can be, nestled between an elementary and a high school, it never ceases to amaze me how quiet things are late at night. It can be very peaceful, and it’s a nice way to end the day.

So, I brought my camera on the walk without a flash, intentionally. With my 50mm f/1.8 lens, I can capture enough natural light to hand-hold the shots and get a realistic depiction to what things really look like, despite the very low light. In this case, I noticed a plant in the landscaping of a neighbor’s yard that looked interesting, with a strong mix of bright light and shadows.

1/40 sec. | f/1.8 | ISO 2000

Granted, this isn’t going to rank among favorites, but it captures a memory. And seeing it again at some point in the future will remind me of the peaceful evening of walking Bailey around the neighborhood late at night, hearing only the coyotes clamoring about in a nearby canyon.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Natalie / May 22 2010 7:15 PM

    Nice shot. I’m guessing you are looking at everything differently with this project going on. I’m sure Bailey loved the walk too.

Leave a Reply

