Skip to content
April 28, 2010 / Steve

Day 118 – The Carlsbad Flower Fields

Every spring, the Carlsbad Flower Fields become a huge attraction both for visitors and locals. Ranunculus flowers are the main attraction, and there are about 50 acres of them during full bloom. It’s a great view to take in. There are also some impressive rose gardens, and other gardens, yada yada yada…. It’s a killer place to take a picture this time of year. 🙂

I showed up at this lookout point as if I were going to a fireworks show. The sun was setting and I was expecting to see something spectacular but you really don’t know how good it will be. The sunset was a 6/7 on the scale of 10 and I got a couple good ones of that, but sunsets are more reliable than the flower field bloom, so there you have it.

The wifey is off to New Orleans without me, enjoying some time her best friends from high school, which means I will be working too much, eating foods I shouldn’t, and staying up way too late watching violent movies. Same goes for Bailey, except for the working part.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mary Skinner / Apr 29 2010 8:05 AM

    How beautiful. Wish it could have been a wide angle shot. Hope they’ll still be in bloom when I’m there.

    • Steve / Apr 29 2010 8:46 AM

      To a lesser extent they will. The pickers have been taking them from the fields so it will diminish some by next week, but there will still be plenty in bloom all around.

  2. darrentunstall / Apr 29 2010 1:51 PM

    I always enjoy driving by these flower fields.

  3. Kim / Apr 29 2010 10:00 PM

    Cool Picture–flowers remind me of our tulip fields up here–love the sunset and ocean in the back ground. Sounds like you have a wild weekend planned!!! I’m sure Susan is bound to have almost as much fun as you this weekend.

    • Steve / Apr 29 2010 10:26 PM

      Trust me, I have nothing planned that comes close to the fun Susan will be having in New Orleans. 😉

Leave a Reply

