Skip to content
April 26, 2010 / Steve

Day 116 – Tools of The Trade

Susan’s birthday gift is getting put to good use! She’s really gotten into cooking, particularly in the last year. It goes without saying that I’m really enjoying it, but unfortunately I think my waistline shows it too. Still, there’s nothing more enjoyable than watching someone doing something they love. To this extent, my birthday gift to her was a Santoku knife, which I’ve learned is one of the key tools in any chef’s knife collection. Since I’ve been reaping the benefits of this gift already, I’m wondering if my selfish subconscious had anything to do with this choice. 😉

This particular blade is from Shun, which features a blade design that is derived from how samurai swords are made. The metal is folded many times to create a harder steel, which results in the pattern in the blade when the metal is honed down.

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Marilyn Kanitz / Apr 26 2010 7:58 PM

    What a thoughtful guy. I bet she will let you use it sometime.

    • Steve / Apr 26 2010 8:02 PM

      Actually I’m afraid of it; it’s wicked sharp.

  2. Dave / Apr 26 2010 8:22 PM

    That thing looks bad ___. You have captured its Samurai heritage well.

  3. Natalie / Apr 27 2010 10:03 AM

    I love that you can see the folds in the metal, but would have liked to have seen the whole knife (without the tip cut off)… Nice gift! You did remember to give her a coin as well, didn’t you?

    • Steve / Apr 27 2010 10:09 AM

      A coin? No, I sure didn’t but you’ll have to pardon my ignorance; I don’t know what the significance of the coin is.

      It’s funny you said you’d like to see the whole blade. I took a picture like that too, and it was actually Susan’s first choice, but for whatever reason, this one seemed more like the “essence” of it instead of being more like a product photo. I guess there’s no accounting for taste; particularly mine. 😉

  4. Julie Kanitz / Apr 27 2010 7:23 PM

    what a thoughtful gift! I’m not so sure I could use that knife!

  5. Natalie / Apr 28 2010 8:30 AM

    If a lover gives you a knife as a gift (or friend) it means the love (or friendship) will end soon. To avoid bad luck in the relationship the gift recipient should give a coin back to “pay for” the gift. Often times the gifter will tape one to the knife for the receiver to give back. Old wives tale. I did a paper on wives tales and superstitions once, can’t believe some of the crazy stuff out there.

    • Steve / Apr 28 2010 8:37 AM

      Ah yes, the ol’ wives tale… I’ll tell Susan she owes me a coin. 🙂 That’s an interesting topic for a paper!

Trackbacks

  1. Day 189 – Ode to Tommy Bahama « Steve's 365 Project

Leave a Reply

