Skip to content
April 23, 2010 / Steve

Day 113 – Space Invaders

We have a house cleaner who comes every two weeks; Aurelia. Today, she came running to get me in a bit of a panic, pointing upstairs because she doesn’t speak english. I had no idea what to expect, but I was thinking maybe the vacuum cleaner broke, or perhaps she needed something heavy moved. Anyway, the last thing in the world I expected to find was a large swarm of bees flying around our bedroom! Not even kidding…. maybe a couple hundred of them, and they were still filing into the room through the open sliding glass door.

I “exclaimed” in surprise, and it seemed that Aurelia was familiar with that phrase. I wanted them out so I thought to leave the door open, but I didn’t want them to keep coming in, so I thought to close the door. With the loud hum going on around my head, I opted for the latter and closed the screen door. Within a minute or so, enough bees had built up on the outside of the door near the top foot of the screen that you couldn’t see through. To say I was confused is an understatement. I stopped bathing in honey months ago…

So, I’m standing at the entrance of our bedroom, watching all these bees swirl around the room, wondering how the hell I’m ever going to get rid of them. Aurelia won’t come near; she’s standing at the other end of the hallway, watching to see what I’m going to do next. After another minute or so, I noticed that the bees in the room were beginning to congregate on the screen, as if to be close to the guys on the other side. Then it struck me – SHOP VAC!

It only took about 5 minutes to suck up all the bees that has landed on the screen and catch them as they landed or even slowed down enough for me to aim my suction tube of bee death at them. The rest of the tribe on the outside of the screen seemed to know of their fate, and soon flew off.

I checked around the exterior of the house; we don’t have any nests or hives anywhere so I guess I’ll never know why this happened. I just have these 3 dead soldiers who managed to avoid the suction tube of bee death. I guess they just perished on their own terms in the room later in the day. The whole thing was just weird.

And…. my bedroom finally got vacuumed.

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jill / Apr 24 2010 12:04 AM

    HOLY CCOOOOOOOW!!!! I have my own bee story which involves me, in a bee suit, going after a hive in my attic. The short story is I never knew my heart could beat so fast, nor did I know I could “run” across rafters at a fast clip. Just freaky that these guys decided to invade your house.

  2. Dave / Apr 24 2010 7:42 AM

    How’d you sleep? I would be jumping at any noise. Bzzzzzz. We had something similar happen to us a couple of years ago but it was in our back yard. I wimped out and called in the professionals to get rid of them. He told us the hive acted as if it had just been misplaced and was getting ready to set up a new camp.

  3. Julie Kanitz / Apr 25 2010 1:08 PM

    Oh my!! I so hope the they don’t return anytime soon! Let’s hope they don’t return when your Mom is visiting!

  4. Gail / Apr 25 2010 1:28 PM

    Wow!!!, We’re so glad you’re alright. What an amazing story and your creative solution is something I never would have thought of. Good for you.

  5. Kim / Apr 26 2010 8:03 AM

    Well that must have got your adrenaline going.

    • Steve / Apr 26 2010 8:06 AM

      Oh yeah! I was taking bets with myself on how many times I might get stung, but it turned out to be pretty simple and no stings at all.

  6. Michael K / May 4 2010 9:32 AM

    Steve, I look at your posts often and keep meaning to write a comment. So here are a few all at once. 1. YOU ARE AWESOME! I am always amazed by your stuff. 2. This was a very funny story! Strange, but hillarious! and 3. We miss you guys! We need to hang out down there or up here soon!

    • Steve / May 4 2010 9:45 AM

      Thanks Mike! Strange indeed. It’s great to hear from you and we’d love to hang out with you guys – doesn’t matter much where…. It’s been way too long! I hope all is well.

Trackbacks

  1. Day 195 – Let It Bee « Steve's 365 Project

Leave a Reply

