Skip to content
April 21, 2010 / Steve

Day 111 – Carlsbad Starry Beach

Having just taken my Day 110 shot with the assistance of my buddy Vic, photography was fresh on my mind as I headed home at about midnight. I was sitting at an intersection, waiting for the light to change and admiring the moon, low on the horizon. Instead of heading east toward home, I went west a couple of miles and pulled off the road at Carlsbad State Beach where I did some long exposures. The wind was blowing and the sand was blasting. Although this picture looks calm and tranquil, I can tell you it was anything but that. While I sat there clicking off long exposures, ranging from 30 seconds to 3 minutes, I had the hood of my jacket pulled all the way over my head and face, trying to shield myself from the blowing sand. The 5D is built to handle tough conditions, and I had my best L lens on the camera, which is also weather-sealed, so I wasn’t too worried about the camera, but it was a mess to clean up when I got home. It’s going in for service tomorrow anyway.

When I woke up this morning, I was still crunching sand in my teeth and a fine grain sand was still coating my eyelids, ears, etc. I think it was worth it though.

Taken within the first hour of Day 111…

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mom / Apr 21 2010 9:44 AM

    Now that’s real dedication to the art of photography … and well worth the effort Steve, Love it!! Do hope your camera is ok. How about your car??

    • Steve / Apr 21 2010 9:52 AM

      Everything survived. I cleaned the camera up good this morning and tested everything. Working perfectly and no gritty noises. 🙂

  2. Victor / Apr 21 2010 2:04 PM

    Very cool…my head still hurts

  3. Bryan / Apr 22 2010 7:24 AM

    Love the stars. Excellent picture.

  4. epicswife / Apr 22 2010 3:50 PM

    Wow – this is so stunning!!! Great Job on this shot, I love it !!!

  5. Kim / Apr 23 2010 9:17 PM

    This is an amazing shot. I could imagine it on my wall. I might consider calling it “MOTION PICTURE” !!!

    • Steve / Apr 23 2010 9:41 PM

      Thanks Kim. Those low clouds were moving fast that night with how hard the wind was blowing.

  6. Julie Kanitz / Apr 25 2010 1:11 PM

    Impressive! I feel the sand on my face…

  7. Natalie / Apr 27 2010 10:15 AM

    This is an incredible photo! This is one I’d love to hang at home!

Trackbacks

  1. Day 209 – Infinity Counter Top « Steve's 365 Project

Leave a Reply

