Skip to content
April 15, 2010 / Steve

Day 105 – Transparent Screen

I just discovered this feature on my Toshiba laptop… Tapping F20 on my keyboard makes my screen go transparent. Pretty neat huh?

Actually, if you find an F20 key on your keyboard don’t tell anyone about it. You may need to get your eyes checked. I should have thought of this one for April fool’s day! Oh well…

You can probably guess how this was made.

  • Dig an old laptop out of the closet
  • Use a drill to create a pilot hole and then a sawzall to saw the screen out of the laptop’s lid
  • Sand edges to make smooth
  • Clean up broken plastic, glass and liquid crystal
  • Compose wine and shakers in the new open window
  • Take picture

But seriously….

  • Compose scene
  • Put camera on a tripod to ensure both pictures needed will be exactly the same, with the exception of the computer
  • Take picture without laptop
  • Take picture with laptop
  • In photoshop, create two layers
  • The picture showing the computer goes on the top layer
  • The picture without the computer on the bottom layer
  • In photoshop, erase the screen section of the computer in the top layer, exposing that area of the scene from the picture on the bottom layer.
10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Niki / Apr 15 2010 9:56 PM

    I really like this one! I have never seen a picture done like this. You and Susan have a great weekend 🙂

    • Steve / Apr 15 2010 9:58 PM

      You too Niki!

  2. Beth / Apr 16 2010 5:48 PM

    I have been following your 365 blog. I don’t take great pictures nor do I have an interest in doing it. I will admit that there are some I like better than others and this one is really cool. Probably one of the easiest, too, which just shows you how inexperienced I really am.

    • Steve / Apr 16 2010 9:10 PM

      It doesn’t take much experience to know what you like. 🙂 Photography, or any other art for that matter is a subjective thing. One of the things I have enjoyed on this project is seeing how varied the feedback is on all the different kinds of photos.

  3. Dave / Apr 16 2010 10:02 PM

    you should have done this on April Fools. It tricked me. I thought the picture was loaded onto the laptap as another layer. Now I feel stupid. Great idea.

    • Steve / Apr 16 2010 10:58 PM

      I suppose that would have worked well too!

  4. Pia / Apr 20 2010 12:48 PM

    So clever! I like it!

  5. Natalie / Apr 20 2010 2:17 PM

    I love this one! What a great shot… it really messed with me for a second.

    • Steve / Apr 20 2010 2:24 PM

      Good! Then it served it’s purpose. 🙂

  6. Kim / Apr 23 2010 9:24 PM

    What a great imagination you have!! Very interesting

Leave a Reply

