Skip to content
April 14, 2010 / Steve

Day 104 – No Cavities

I had a dentist appointment this morning, which was interesting because my cleaning was done by a very pregnant, very hormonal woman. It felt like something out of a Monty Python movie. Let’s just say I heard some things that a captive man in a chair with no experience in child-rearing should ever hear.

The upside of all this is that my appointment landed me in La Jolla; one of my favorite places to carry a camera around. For once I had the right gear with me at the right time. After the assault on my mouth, I meandered down to WindandSea Beach and put together some nice slow shutter shots of the shoreline. The clarity of the water today was amazing and with the polarizer I could catch those beautiful tropical tones. Since the midday sun was as harsh as always, I ran this shot through HDR processing – rendering 5 exposures of varied light levels into one picture which is tuned for color and highlights. Once again, this is one of those shots that some will love and some may not. I tend to like very bold colors in this type of picture, so it’s seasoned for taste – particularly mine. I hope you like it too!

Canon 5D Mark II | 1/4 sec. | f/22 | ISO 50 | 24mm
HDR: 5 exposures (+/- ev): -2, -1, 0, +1, +2

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. bjquan / Apr 14 2010 11:28 PM

    Yowza Steve! This turned out great. Love the colors and silky water.

  2. Melissa / Apr 15 2010 6:08 AM

    Simply beautiful….no other words to describe!

  3. Mom / Apr 15 2010 2:55 PM

    WoW! I love it. The bigger I made the picture the more I liked it and could just picture it framed on a wall. Made me wonder what the 5 exposures looked like before you combined them.

  4. Steve / Apr 15 2010 3:16 PM

    Thanks you guys! This is one I may frame. It has complimentary tones to one of our guest rooms.

  5. Julie Kanitz / Apr 15 2010 7:26 PM

    Love it! I was going to say frame it, then I read the comments above… good minds think a like…. What size would you recommend me buying from you? This “get a way” may get me through the new work load the next few months! Your talents continue to amaze me… so glad I have some of your genes! lol

    • Steve / Apr 15 2010 7:54 PM

      Gosh, I don’t know Julie. I’m flattered that you deem it worthy for your walls! I guess it all depends on what you want to do with it. For table top I’d go 5 x 7 so you can frame it with a cool matte. For hanging, go as big as you want, or even get it on canvas if that suits you. Some sizes require cropping, which cuts out either a bit of the edges, and I always hate that. The best larger sizes that do’t require cropping are 12 x 18 and 16 x 24. These are the options I see on my smugmug account for this picture.

      http://svsimagery.smugmug.com/Portfolio/Project-365/10828987_fJu6D#837363524_HnSMW From this page, if you click buy, then “this photo”, you’ll see all the options for just prints under prints / standard sizes. If you want to buy a framed portrait, you can do that on this site too. There are lots of options. Just remember to use the discount code “friendfam” when you buy anything – it removes the 25% markup I have on everything, which is just in place to make a little bit from the purchases from the general public.

  6. Natalie / Apr 20 2010 2:20 PM

    Wow!! The colors are amazing… the water’s colors actually caught my eye first, but the color of the rocks is so stunning too!

Leave a Reply

