Skip to content
April 13, 2010 / Steve

Day 103 – Remnants of Rain

With fresh coffee in hand, I ventured out onto my front walk this morning before starting work. The sun was rising and I noticed that some of the plants in the flower beds were still sprinkled with water droplets from the rain of the night before. Standing above it all, it just looks like wet leaves, but if you look a little more closely, squat down and use angles to let the sunlight play off the water droplets, you can find something rather beautiful…

Best viewed bigger. Click it. πŸ™‚

Canon 5D Mark II | 1/800 sec. | f/2.8 | ISO 50 | 50mm

I’ve tried pulling off this shot a few times before, but always ended up getting a picture I liked better at some point later in the day. My camera battery charger went missing today, so I didn’t take many other pictures. Nevertheless, I think this is one of the better shots I’ve gotten of this style so far; with good detail, sharp focus and even the bonus string of “bokeh beads” in the background, which are just other droplets reflecting sunlight but blurred out. I like how you can see the five sides on those blurred droplets, depicting the five aperture blades inside the lens.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Marco / Apr 14 2010 1:33 AM

    My favourite shot so far Steve, since I’ve been following!

    • Steve / Apr 14 2010 6:20 AM

      Thanks Marco!

  2. Mom / Apr 14 2010 7:33 AM

    Love this shot of the water droplets Steve…and also the shot of Bailey shopping for a treat yesterday. πŸ™‚

    • Steve / Apr 14 2010 7:34 AM

      Ha, I knew you’d love the one of Bailey. πŸ™‚ Thanks.

  3. epicswife / Apr 14 2010 8:35 AM

    Wow – that is a great great great shot – I love how you captured the light in there like that – beautiful. The multiple drops are very cool !!!

  4. Natalie / Apr 14 2010 1:55 PM

    Awesome shot!

  5. Pia / Apr 14 2010 4:12 PM

    That is CRAZY awesome! Dude, GREAT shot!

Leave a Reply

