Skip to content
April 11, 2010 / Steve

Day 101 – Smoke Art

Every once in a while, I go and see what other 365ers are doing in their projects; to admire their work and also get some inspiration for future shots of my own. A few weeks ago, I saw some pictures of some really cool smoke trails, and I finally got around to trying it out myself tonight. As is often the case, it’s not as easy as I thought it would be. My pictures didn’t look nearly as good as the ones I was trying to emulate, and in the end I found that my pictures actually looked better in negative. This picture was taken in the dark with a black background and two different color flashes on either side of the smoke. Changing it to negative (inverting the colors) actually brought out more detail and looked more interesting to me. In other words, I didn’t do a good enough job with it on my first attempt, so I had to get creative with it in the post processing. 😉

Eventually, with better separation from the background, better work with the lighting and some luck with cool smoke patterns, I should be able to achieve results like this.

For my first try though, I’m reasonably pleased with the results and happy to call it day 101.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Natalie / Apr 14 2010 1:53 PM

    I looked at the one in the link, and I like yours better!

    • Steve / Apr 14 2010 2:28 PM

      I think you may be biased. 🙂

Leave a Reply

